skip to main content
Aggreko plc – link to home page

Key to Committee Membership

Ken Hanna
Appointed: Non-executive Director in October 2010 and Chairman in April 2012

Ken has international experience, bringing financial and leadership expertise to Aggreko. He possesses knowledge of many different business sectors and is an experienced senior executive and leader, promoting robust debate and a culture of openness in the Boardroom.

Ken is also currently Chairman of Inchcape Plc and Chairman of Shooting Star CHASE Charity. Until 2009, Ken spent five years as Chief Financial Officer of Cadbury Plc. He has also held positions as Operating Partner for Compass Partners, Group Chief Executive at Dalgety Plc, Group Finance Director of United Distillers Plc and Group Finance Director of Avis Europe Plc.

Chris Weston
Chief Executive Officer
Appointed: January 2015

Chris has experience at a senior level in the energy industry, proven leadership skills in a large international business and has consistently succeeded in driving performance and growth in his career.

Prior to his appointment as Chief Executive Officer in January 2015, Chris was Managing Director, International Downstream at Centrica plc, where he was the Executive Director responsible for the Group’s largest division. In this role Chris was operationally responsible for both British Gas in the UK and Direct Energy in the USA. He joined Centrica in 2001 after a successful career in the telecoms industry, working for both Cable & Wireless and One.Tel. Before that, Chris served in the Royal Artillery. He has a BSc in Applied Science, as well as an MBA and PhD from Imperial College London.

Carole Cran
Chief Financial Officer
Appointed: June 2014

Carole has corporate finance and accounting experience acquired over a number of years in senior financial roles with considerable exposure to emerging markets. Carole was appointed to the Board as Chief Financial Officer on 1 June 2014. Having joined Aggreko in 2004, her previous roles include Group Financial Controller and Director of Finance. A key member of the senior management team, Carole has worked to align financial strategies with the strategic direction of the business. Carole was also appointed as a Non-executive Director of Halma plc on 1 January 2016.

Prior to joining Aggreko, Carole spent seven years at BAE Systems, in a range of senior financial positions, including four years in Australia. Carole is also a chartered accountant, having trained at KPMG whilst working in their audit divisions in the UK and Australia.

Russell King
Senior Independent Director
Appointed: Non-executive Director in February 2009 and Senior Independent Director in April 2014

Russell brings international experience, acquired across a number of sectors including mining and chemicals, together with strong experience in strategy.

An experienced Non-executive Director, Russell currently sits on the boards of Spectris Plc as Senior Independent Director and Remuneration Committee Chairman and Interserve plc as Senior Independent Director. He is also Chairman of Hummingbird Resources plc. Prior to this, Russell spent eight years at Anglo American Plc, latterly as Chief Strategy Officer and spent 20 years in senior roles at ICI.

Diana Layfield
Non-executive Director
Appointed: May 2012

Diana brings extensive international experience and detailed understanding of how to operate successfully across emerging markets, particularly in Africa and Asia. She also brings experience in sales, technology and strategy.

Diana was formerly Chief Executive, Africa Region for Standard Chartered Plc. Previous positions held over 11 years at Standard Chartered include: Chief Operating Officer for the Wholesale Bank; Group Head of Strategy & Corporate Development; and Global Head of Corporate Clients. Prior to Standard Chartered, Diana was Chief Executive Officer of Finexia Ltd, a technology firm, and spent five years with McKinsey & Co, an international strategy consulting firm. Diana has a BA from the University of Oxford and a Master’s degree in International Economics and Public Administration from Harvard University.

Ian Marchant
Non-executive Director
Appointed: November 2013

Ian brings knowledge of the domestic and international energy markets, along with a substantial understanding of associated strategic, financial and regulatory issues. Until his retirement in June 2013, Ian spent 21 years at SSE Plc, most recently as Chief Executive, and prior to that as Finance Director.

Ian is an experienced Non-executive Director, currently serving as Chairman of John Wood Group Plc and former Chairman of Infinis Energy Plc. He is also Chairman of Maggies Cancer Charity, a Member of the Prince’s Council of the Duchy of Cornwall, Honorary President of RZSS, Chairman of the advisory board of the Centre of Energy Policy at Strathclyde University and former Chairman of Scotland’s 2020 Climate Group.

Uwe Krueger
Non-executive Director
Appointed: February 2015

Uwe brings expertise of the engineering, services and renewable energy sectors. He is a physicist with a PhD and an honorary professorship from the University of Frankfurt and an honorary PhD from Heriot-Watt University. Most of his career has been spent leading engineering and consulting organisations.

Uwe is currently Chief Executive Officer of WS Atkins plc. He also sits on the boards of SUSI Partners AG and Ontex S.A. and lectures at the University of Frankfurt on renewable energy. Before joining WS Atkins plc, Uwe was Chief Executive Officer of Oerlikon, Senior Advisor at Texas Pacific Group, President of Cleantech Switzerland, and held various senior leadership positions at Hochtief AG.

Dame Nicola Brewer
Non-executive Director
Appointed: February 2016

Nicola Brewer brings extensive geo-political and diplomatic experience to Aggreko, having worked in many of the developing regions in which we operate, including Latin America, Asia and Africa.

Nicola was a senior diplomat at the UK Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) and from 2009 to 2013 was High Commissioner to South Africa, Lesotho and Swaziland. Her FCO postings also included Mexico and India. She has served as Director General at the Department for International Development where she supervised all UK overseas bilateral aid programmes in Africa, Asia, Eastern Europe, the Middle East and Latin America. She was also Director General for Europe and on the Management Board at the FCO. She is currently the Vice Provost International at University College London.

Peter Kennerley
Group Legal Director & Company Secretary
Appointed: October 2008 Tenure with Aggreko: 8 years

In addition to his role as Company Secretary, Peter is Group Legal Director and also has responsibility for our compliance and commercial function.

He was formerly Company Secretary and General Counsel of Scottish & Newcastle Plc; prior to that Peter was a partner at Simmons & Simmons specialising in corporate law. Peter also spent two years as Secretary to the Takeover Panel.

External Website

Thank you for visiting Aggreko.plc. This link will open in a new window.